Upcoming Events

The 37th European CF Conference
Wed, 2014-06-11
CFTR functional measurements in human models for diagnosis, prognosis and personalised therapy
Wed, 2014-03-26
South Eastern CF Conference - Belgrade
Thu, 2013-10-24 - Sat, 2013-10-26
The Turkish Association @ the Worldwide CF Day: Early diagnosis saves lives
Sun, 2013-09-08
The Turkish Association @ the Worldwide CF Day: Early diagnosis saves lives
Thu, 2013-09-05
The 36th European CF Conference - Lisbon
Wed, 2013-06-12 - Sat, 2013-06-15
CFE Annual Meetings 2013 - Lisbon
Tue, 2013-06-11 - Sat, 2013-06-15
ERS School course on CF
Thu, 2013-04-18 - Sat, 2013-04-20
7th European CF Young Investigator Meeting
Wed, 2013-02-27 - Fri, 2013-03-01
ECFS Diagnostics Network Working Group Meeting
Thu, 2013-02-07

Contact information

Hilde de Keyser

hilde@muco.be

0032 - (0)2 61 32 716

User login

European Young Investigators Meeting 2014

The 7th edition of the European CF Young Investigators Meeting from 19 to 21 February 2014 was very successful.  40 selected young CF researchers from across Europe, Canada and India and 10 senior scientists in the CF field exchanged their research and latest insights and findings.

 

Thanks to the close cooperation of the national associations of Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, and the UK and the ECFS, we were able to realise this highly appreciated meeting, with high quality of the presentations and discussions with very interactive networking.

CFTR functional measurements in human models for diagnosis, prognosis and personalised therapy

Prior to the ECFS Basic Science Conference in Malta there will be a pre-conference meeting organised by the Dutch, the French and the German patient organisation on CFTR functional measurements in human models.. The meeting is chaired by Jeffrey Beekman and Margarida Amaral.

‘Major step on the road to cure Cystic Fibrosis’


Stem cells with Cystic Fibrosis have been repaired in the laboratory.
Researchers of the Dutch Hubrecht Institute and the University Medical Centre Utrecht
have been able to repair stem cells with Cystic Fibrosis. They have cut out the CFcausing
defect from intestinal stem cells and replaced it by a “healthy piece”. ‘This is
a major step in the road to cure Cystic Fibrosis. Very hopeful. Patients will not benefit
immediately, but technology is moving forward’, says Jacquelien Noordhoek, CEO of
the Dutch Cystic Fibrosis Foundation NCFS.